The Imperfect Parent

I wake up every morning to one or more kids climbing in my bed wanting to snuggle before we really get up. I savory this time every morning because it is the only time during the day I know I am doing something completely right for my kids.

Early Morning: Then the day begins along with me questioning the decisions I am making for the day. Do I let them watch TV first thing in the morning? As a parent we hear how bad screen time is for our kids. Then I wonder how much is too much or should I let them use the computer instead?

Breakfast: Moving on to breakfast, I am willing and prefer to make my kids a hot breakfast but most of the time they just want cereal. So again I question myself and think is it bad to give them just cereal? Should I make the breakfast anyway and then tell them that they have to eat what I have made? Usually, I give into cereal.

Late Morning: By now there has been some sort of crying in my house. He took the book from me or she has something I want. The list could go on. I then question myself on how to handle this. With only 16 months between the two they are pretty equal. So, do I let them work it out or do I intervene? If I am going to intervene when should I step in? What is going to make them closer in the long run? What is going to make them more caring and independent? I wonder about this constantly. Since I was raised without siblings I don’t have any experience to draw from.

Lunch: I make lunch and the kids either eat it or not. But I do not make anything else. I am confident with this decision but the questions come if my child doesn’t eat, when can I give them a snack? In 30 minutes, an hour, two? I don’t want them to think they get to have a snack instead of lunch.

Afternoon: We are usually home in the afternoon since most of our playdates and activities are in the  morning. During this time I begin to question myself and wonder, did I spend enough quality time today? Did I play with them enough? I know I spent all day with them but was I really with them?

Early Evening: Since neither of my children (2 1/2 and 4) nap anymore they start to get upset about even smaller things in the evening. Some days are easy and others are rough. On the rough days I debate bedtime. On a bad day I start bedtime at 6:30 and really it’s hoping for the best. On a normal day it’s closer to 7:15. But then I question our bedtime routine. Yes they brush their teeth, we read a story but then we stay in their room until they fall asleep. I go back and forth on this. Some days I think that it would be so wonderful to just kiss them goodnight after their book and leave. That’s what I think I am “supposed” to do. But other days I know one day they will no longer want me to stay and I really enjoy this time most days.

No matter what one or more of these debates go on in my head on a daily basis. I know that we all question our parenting techniques and skill but it doesn’t stop me from feeling like I could do more. I try to remind myself daily that I will not get everything right and that’s ok. As long as I raise happy, kind, self sufficient adults I have done my best. What do you question most about your parenting?

2 thoughts on “The Imperfect Parent

  1. Andrea says:

    As a grandmother now, I still on occasion think back about things I should or should not have done…it never ends. When you give them unconditional love, they will grow up to be confident, well adjusted, and loving adults. Go with your gut feeling – most likely it will be the right one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

